IPL 2019 Schedule: First Phase of Fixtures Announced by BCCI

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 schedule have been released in the IPL website with a press conference on February 19th by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The IPL 2019 will be held in two phases due to the upcoming Loka Sabha 2019 election in India, the dates of the election have not yet been announced. After the dates have been announced BCCI will fix any issue arising during the first phase of the IPL and then decide on the dates for the rest of the season. 

IPL 2019 first phase is starting on the March 23rd and continue till April 5th; however, the dates may change according to the election dates. Once the election dates are released confirmed dates for the first phase and rest of the phase will be announced. 

BCCI have released the IPL 2019 schedule for the first two weeks, there are altogether 17 matches to be played. These matches will be played across the authorized eight home venues. 

IPL 2019 teams

Chennai Super Kings
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Kolkata Knight Riders
Mumbai Indians
Delhi Capitals
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Kings XI Punjab
Rajasthan Royals

Minimum of four matches will be played by each team during the first phase, Delhi Capitals (DC) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will play against each other in five matches. Each team will play 2 home games and 2 away games except the DC and RCB. DC will play 3 homes matches and RCB will play 3 away matches. 

The first match is between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Chennai. CSK is lead by M.S. Dhoni and RCB is led by Virat Kohli. This is one of the most anticipated matches in this phase as two of the best cricketers in the Indian team will be playing against each other and CSK were the 2018 champions. 

Yuvaraj Singh who was in a bad form in the 2018 IPL was not selected to any team this time, however, fans have made several comments about this, saying that he should be in a team as he is a fantastic player. The cricket fans all around the world are waiting eagerly until the season starts. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here